My Farming Experience

Four years ago I led a very different life from what I have now. I went to public school, played video games more than I spent time outside and we shopped at Whole Foods. We started a small container garden in our backyard and we started hiking a lot.

We eventually moved closer to the mountains, away from the city and started talking about having a small farm of some goats and chickens. When we started researching stuff for a farm we thought we were just going to have two or three Kunes and some chickens. Now we have seven KuneKune pigs, a litter of four piglets, three rabbits, fourteen evil guineas, four goats, thirty six quail, fifteen laying hens, ten bantams (Silkies/Cochins), two Meishans arriving on Thursday and twenty five lavender Ameraucanas. A lot more than we originally planned!

I can’t imagine life without farming now, it would seem so boring without. Caring and loving for a ton of animals everyday is a lot of work, but it feels amazing to do so. Farming has made me feel more useful in life. While before my biggest concern before was picking out gelato at Whole Foods, I now am keeping animals alive. I have learned a ton of new skills like how to build things, how to take care of animals, quick problem solving, business skills, how to run a farm and a lot more. Overall the best thing overall is piglets though. They are little balls of sunshine.

When I grow up am going to be a full time farmer. I will have my massive herd of Kunes and Meishans with no guineas.

My next blog post is going to be about planning the best breedings with our pigs.

2 thoughts on “My Farming Experience

Leave a Reply

