Forest Pastures Part 2 – Fencing

Today, I am writing the second part of my forest pasture expansion posts. I am going to be writing my experience of fencing it in today.

We hired our friends the Shirley’s to come help us fence in the new area. My Mom and I helped out the entire time and I learned a couple things I didn’t know before. It was an amazing feeling seeing the paddocks come together piece by piece. I helped pound in t-posts , dig holes and carry rolls of wire , etc. I really enjoyed helping them out. After finishing the fence we had to move boars into their new area. We carried/moved them all into their new home after the struggle of catching them.

All the pigs have really been loving it. Instead of sleeping all day they are either foraging or exploring down in the second pasture.

My Mom and I quickly made a temporary pig hut out of pallets, tarps and the frame of a chicken tractor. It is doing a good job, but hopefully in the future we can build something more permanent.

The fencing may be done but there is still a lot of brush and trees in the pasture. My Mom and I have been moving mass amounts of the leftover brush, logs and trees into burn piles inside the pastures. When we move the pigs into one of our rejuvenating pastures we will burn them.

With all the fencing My Mom and I have helped with we have learned a lot of skills from it. We are planning to try and do some fencing on our own for a meat pig area.

This was our second major expansion in under a year. My Mom and I have made a ton of progress and It feels amazing to look out and see it everyday. I can’t wait to see what sort of expansions we do in 2017.

